ITCA Letter Head  

The Irish Terrier Club of America was organized December 18th (1896) at Mr. Samuel D. Parker's office (in Boston). Present were Samuel D. Parker, H. White, and Oscar W. Donner.

The new club held its first regular meeting two months later, 23 February 1897, at Madison Square Garden during the Westminster KC Show.


The objectives of the Club, set out in the Club's constitution, are:
  • to encourage and promote breeding of pure-bred Irish Terriers;
  • to encourage the organization of independent local Irish Terrier clubs;
  • to urge members and breeders to adhere to the AKC approved Standard of the Breed;
  • to protect and advance the interests ot the breed and to encourage sportsmanlike competition;
  • to conduct sanctioned matches and specialty shows, field and obediance trials under rules of the AKC.


The Club produces several newsletters each year with show results, up coming events, health information and many other topics. An Annual Roster is also produced. The Club also publishes pamphlets and brochures regarding Irish Terriers. Periodically, the Club publishes an all-encompassing Irish Terrier Breed Book.


The Irish Terrier Club of America is open to all persons who share a fondness for this happy rugged terrier, the Irish Terrier. New members are welcome, but need to be sponsored by a current member.


The governing body of the Irish Terrier Club of America is a seventeen (17) member Board of Governors, with five (5) of the Governors elected as Officers. The five (5) officers are NOT the managing members of the Board of Governors nor do they manage the Club.
  • Board members (Governors) are elected by the membership for three-year terms and may be re-elected, four members being elected each year to succeed four retiring members.
  • Officers (president, vice-president, corresponding secretary, recording secretary, and treasurer) are elected by the membership (rather than by the Board) for one-year terms, and may be re-elected.
  • Officers' responsibilities do not give them additional authority, i.e. their only authority is as a member of the Board of Governors.
  • The president is limited to three consecutive one-year terms.
  • The annual meeting is held at the time and place of the Fall Specialty.

Green Bar

Site Designed and Maintained by Wysiwyg's Design
Date Last Modified: Wednesday, January 23, 2008
Copyright © 1999 - 2014 by T. McGuire, Austin, Texas. All rights reserved